Categories of Employment-Based Visas

Image by Dirk Wouters from Pixabay

Employment-based visas in the United States are divided into different categories, each catering to specific types of workers and industries. As of my last update in September 2021, here are the main categories of employment-based visas:

  1. EB-1 Visa: Priority Workers This category is for individuals with extraordinary ability in arts, sciences, education, business, or athletics, outstanding professors or researchers, and multinational executives or managers.
  2. EB-2 Visa: Professionals with Advanced Degrees or Exceptional Ability This category is for professionals with advanced degrees or individuals with exceptional ability in the arts, sciences, or business.
  3. EB-3 Visa: Skilled Workers, Professionals, and Other Workers This category is for skilled workers, professionals with bachelor’s degrees, and other workers with less than two years of experience in their respective fields.
  4. EB-4 Visa: Special Immigrants This category includes various special immigrant groups, such as religious workers, broadcasters, employees of certain international organizations, and Afghan or Iraqi nationals who have worked for the U.S. government.
  5. EB-5 Visa: Immigrant Investors This category is for foreign investors who invest a certain amount of capital in a new commercial enterprise that creates jobs for U.S. workers. This is also known as the investor visa.

Please note that there might be updates or changes to these visa categories after my last update. If you’re considering an employment-based visa, it’s essential to check the latest information and requirements on the official U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) website or consult an immigration attorney for the most current information.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.